News and notes from
The Partnership and NMDC
Volume 3, Issue 143
May 13, 2016
  • EoY Nominees
  • ACT Summit
ACT Summit registration deadline Monday
   AROOSTOOK COUNTY — Aroostook County Tourism (ACT) will be hosting a Tourism Summit Friday, May 20, from 9 a.m. to 12:45 p.m. at the Southern Aroostook Agricultural Museum in Littleton.
   “Just about every business in Aroostook County benefits when tourism dollars come into the region,” said Alain Ouellette, Planning and Development Division Director for Northern Maine Development Commission. “At the summit we will discuss Aroostook’s marketing goals for 2016-17, the Maine Office of Tourism will present on its plan to attract tourists to Maine, Chris Fogg, CEO of the Maine Tourism Association, will let us know what is new with his organization and Mike Wilson of the Northern Forest Center will update attendees on attracting tourists to destinations like Northern Maine.”
   Following the formal presentations and lunch, guided tours of the museum will be available.      
   “The Tourism Summit is an opportunity for individuals in the tourism industry to network with each other and discuss similar issues and concerns they are experiencing in their business,” added Ouellette. “Communicating with others in the industry creates new ideas and encourages people to work together to resolve some of the challenges and obstacles that many are faced with every day.” 
   The summit is free and lunch will be served.
   More information can be found at Pre-registration is required by 4 p.m. Monday by contacting Judy Dinsmore at NMDC at or 1-888-216-2463.
   Aroostook County Tourism (ACT), a standing board of the Northern Maine Development Commission, is dedicated to improving the economy of northern Maine through its tourism efforts. Working under the brand Aroostook “the Crown of Maine”, ACT promotes some of the regions greatest assets like its pristine beauty, diverse culture, storied history and wonderful people to potential visitors from around the world.
Aroostook Entrepreneur of the Year nominees named
Award banquet pre-registration required

    AROOSTOOK COUNTY — Eleven nominees are vying for the title of Aroostook Entrepreneur of the Year for 2016.
   The long-time LEADers Encouraging Aroostook Development competition is now sponsored by the Aroostook Partnership, which was formed in November of 2015, by combining LEAD and Aroostook Partnership for Progress.
   The nominees will be honored and a winner announced at an awards dinner Thursday, May 26, at Northern Maine Community College.
   A panel of judges, representing the supporting organizations Husson University, Northern Maine Community College, the University of Maine at Fort Kent and the University of Maine at Presque Isle reviewed the nominees Wednesday, May 10, but the name of the winner, first and second runners up will not be announced until the May 26 event.
   “The selection committee was very impressed with the level of ingenuity, creativity and entrepreneurial foresight shown by this year's nominees,” said Scott Voisine of UMFK. “While there were many great applicants, the finalists quickly rose to the top of the list during scoring and deliberation and the committee quickly came to a consensus on the winners. It is exciting to see entrepreneurialism is alive and well in The County.”          
   The nominees are Alete Salon and Spa owner Jenney Dionne; Rodney McCrum of Pineland Farms Potato Company; Steve Adams of Boondocks Grille; Jacob, Joshua, Jared, Bruce, Brent and Barry Buck of Maine Malt House; North Country Auto owner Randy Norsworthy; Justin and Alicia Burby of Reliant Repair; Leisure Gardens owner Albert Cyr, Tristan and Jonathan Noyes of GroMaine; Patrick Vaillancourt of Northern Turf Management; Stairs Welding owner Roger Larson; and Tyler Player of Player Design Inc.
   Partnership Chairman Chris Anderson said Entrepreneur of the Year is very important for the organization and Aroostook.
   “The Aroostook Partnership is about fostering prosperity,” he said. “Prosperity occurs when organizations grow and employ people. Communities thrive when prosperity occurs. Entrepreneurs create new organizations therefore; the Aroostook Partnership celebrates our entrepreneurs as catalysts for our communities’ future prosperity.”
   Previous winners include David Harbison of Bison Pumps in Houlton, Matt Bell of Northeast Pellets in Ashland, Northern Maine Distilling’s Jessica Jewell and Scott Galbiati (formerly of Houlton), Troy Haney of Haney Building Specialties in Caribou, Corey LaPlante of Northern Prosthetics in Presque Isle and Josh McLaughlin of J. McLaughlin Construction in Houlton.
   The nominees, finalists and winner will be celebrated May 26 at the Edmunds Conference Center at Northern Maine Community College. The Aroostook Entrepreneur of the Year dinner will feature local produce, products and highlight the cultural diversity of the region. There will also be a vegetarian option. Prior to the meal and program, a social hour with hors d'oeuvres and drinks will be held starting at 5:30 p.m. The price per person is $45. Pre-registration is required by 4 p.m. May 20. To register, contact Jon Gulliver at 498-5851 or by email at
Quick Links:
Contact Us 
11 West Presque Isle Road | Caribou | Maine | 04736