Special Opportunity to sing in
Madison Opera's production of Carmen!
 
 
 
Interested in additional singing opportunities this season? As the official children's choir of the Madison Opera, we have been asked to choose 24 singers to be part of their production of Carmen this fall! Georges Bizet's masterpiece is one of the most popular operas in the world and has enthralled audiences for generations. This is an amazing opportunity for our singers to participate in a professional opera production with an incredible cast and production staff, learn great music, and sing on the Overture Hall stage!

The children's chorus has an important role in the production and the commitment will be significant but well worth the extra time. We are looking for a group of 24 MYC singers of various ages who are able to sing in the treble range. Please note that singers must be 5'3" or shorter (the Madison Opera rents costumes from other productions and has set parameters on the size of our singers). The music is challenging and it will require the ability to be focused and on-task at all times. 

The commitment (All rehearsals and performances are required):

REHEARSALS TO LEARN THE MUSIC: at Madison Opera Center, 333 W Mifflin
Tuesday, September 12: 5-6:30pm 
Tuesday, September 19: 5-6:30pm 
Tuesday, September 26: 5-6:30pm 
Tuesday, October 3: 5-6:30pm 
Tuesday, October 10: 5-6:30pm 
Thursday, October 12: 5-6:30pm
Tuesday, October 17: 5-6:30pm  

STAGING REHEARSALS: at Madison Opera Center, 333 W Mifflin
Saturday, October 14: 10am-noon
Thursday, October 19: 6-9pm
Tuesday, October 24: 6-9pm
Wednesday, October 25: 7-9pm

FINAL TECH/DRESS REHEARSALS and PERFORMANCES: at Overture Center 
Saturday, October 28: 2-5pm (Sitzprobe)
Sunday, October 29: 7-11pm (piano tech)
Monday, October 30: 7-11pm (piano dress)
Tuesday, October 31: 7-10pm (orchestra dress)
Wednesday November 1: 11am (final dress, call time TBD)
Friday, November 3: 8pm performance (call time TBD)  
Sunday, November 5: 2:30pm performance (call time TBD)  

If you are interested, please email Lisa Kjentvet by Friday, September 1 with the following information: 
  • Singer Name 
  • Singer Height
  • Current MYC Choir 

We will build the roster based on the needs of Madison Opera. Once you volunteer we assume you have checked the dates and can commit to 100% participation. Only singers who have submitted their 2017-2018 registration forms and tuition payment/tuition assistance forms are eligible. We will likely have more volunteers than are needed. We will confirm each participant once the roster is final. Thank you for your patience!

Mike and Lisa
 
 
 
Footer-logo