November 2015

Upcoming Meetings / Events
November 5
November 17
November 19
Town Council
Planning Board
Board Meeting
Cadman Elementary
Cadman Elementary
Cadman Library
Agenda / Minutes
About CTC
Phone: 858.480.9430

President's Letter 

November 2015

The year is beginning to wind down, but not before our CTC Elections! Offices up for election include: President, Vice President, Secretary, Director North, Director South, and two Director-at-Large seats. Those elected will be sworn-in at our January meeting.

Organizing for next year's Garden Tour is beginning to get underway. If you'd like to be on the committee to help organize our 20th annual tour, please email, or visit

Our next meeting is Thursday, November 5 at 6:30pm inside Cadman Elementary. We are ever so excited to welcome Assembly Speaker Toni Atkins as our guest speaker. Speaker Atkins is the first Speaker of the California State Assembly to ever represent San Diego (and thus parts of South Clairemont and Bay Park). Bring your questions and ideas to the meeting for this historic Town Council moment with one of our state leaders.

Also, we've all heard about the controversial proposal of raising our water rates, right? The San Diego Public Utilities Department will conduct a "cost of study" outreach presentation at our November 5th meeting. Obviously, if this is an issue that you may be affected by, we strongly encourage you to attend.
Continue Reading
Public Safety Issue
Recently, there's a been a significant public safety discussion on Nextdoor about a particular registered sex offender in the Clairemont area. The story even made it to 10News (video link).

Today, Officer Larry Hesselgesser posted an informational flyer about this individual. If you notice any suspicious behavior, please notify SDPD.

We strive to keep our Clairemont communities safe, and we can by working together.

We'd be remiss not to highlight neighborhood watch. If you'd like any information about neighborhood watch, please contact Steph Groce at
CTC Board Elections 2015
The following offices, and those declared candidates thus far, shall be considered for election at our November General Meeting on Thursday, November 5, 2015:

    • Ryan Trabuco (incumbent, membership-approved waiver)

    • ​Richard Morris (incumbent)

    • ​Eden Yaege (incumbent)

    • ​Deanna Gurley (incumbent)

    • ​Joe Sopher (incumbent, membership-approved waiver)

    • ​John Poutre (incumbent)

    • ​Carrie Munson (incumbent)

Those candidates elected onto the Clairemont Town Council Board of Directors will be sworn-in at our January 2016 meeting.

For more information, check out the 2015 Elections post on our CTC Blog, or contact Cory Lacy, Chair of the Elections Committee, at, or via phone at 858.480.9430.
THANK YOU to our 2015 Clairemont Town Council Members! 
Business, Non-Profit Members, and Sponsors
Assembly Speaker Toni Atkins
Bay Mesa Real Estate Association
Bay Park Coffee
Big Frog Custom T-Shirts & More
City Councilwoman Lorie Zapf
City Councilman Chris Cate
Clairemont Community News
Clairemont Girls Fastpitch Softball
Clairemont Hills Kiwanis
Clairemont Hilltoppers Little League
Clairemont Produce Cooperative
Clairemont Realty
Coastal Solar & Home Improvement
Dos Bandidos
Elite Escrow
Family Vision Care
Girl Next Door Honey
Green Gardens Nursery
K-CO Construction
Kyley Christy
Law Offices of Hickman & Robinson
Leashes 4 Life International
Maker Place
Richard Morris
Papa’s Pizza - Moraga Ave.
Pioneer Ocean View UCC
Postal Connections
Reusable Finds
Rita’s of Clairemont - Bay Park
Starbucks Coffee
The UPS Store
Walter Andersen Nursery
West Coast Electric Solutions
Individuals &
Family Members
Jason Adams & Dana Sortwell
Pat Baldwin
Helder Balelo
Cathy Banner
Philip Blanco
Kim Booth
Hugo Carmona
Kevin Ferris
Cathlyn Fisher
John Flattery
The Gibson Family
Paul Giret
Steph Groce
The Guerrero Family
Deanna Gurley
Lynn Haims
Keith Heasletet
Simone Henriques
Katie Heslin
Shawn Hoch
Brian Kennedy
Cory Lacy
Debbie Moore
The Munson Family
Karen Napolitani
Travis Nunn
Rhoda Quate
Paula Remmel
Margaret Riggs
Lois Shive
The Smith Family
John Sroka
Marcia Strong
Ryan Trabuco
Howard Wayne
Lorene Whitley
Senior Members (55+)
Gloria Alexanderson
Barbara Bandhauer
Gene Brockington
Mike Brown
George Campbell
Jennifer Campbell, M.D.
The Carstons
Arlene Dalton
Bill Dalton
Julio DeGuzman
Michael Dwyer
Elaine Evans
Judy Fulkerson
Gary Fuson
Robert Gound
Richard Hammond
Delanah Hardacre
Nancy Hartley
Steve Innis
Janet Lancaster
Richard LeCren
Lynn Little
Darcy Murphine
Terry Richard
Ryan Rossiter
Marjorie Sawyer
Marge Sims
Maureen Smith
Wilbur Smith
The Sophers
Nan Valerio
Nancy Vellis

Veteran Members
Bob Bandhauer
Curtis DeVries
Rick Richard
Jack Vellis

Student Members
Hilary Nemchik
Jesus Martinez
Clairemont Town Council, founded in 1954, is located in San Diego, CA, and is a 501(c)4 non-profit organization whose purpose is to promote the civic, commercial, educational and cultural activities, as well as the general welfare of the community of Clairemont.

The objectives of the Council are to provide a forum for discussion of community issues, take a stand on community issues as authorized by the membership, communicate community views to the appropriate organizations, and sponsor programs that benefit Clairemont.​

P.O. Box 17793, San Diego, CA 92177-7793 |  858·480·9430