FTA Annual Banquet & Awards
Program Names Hall Of Fame Inductee, Excellence Awards Winners​, Other Honorees
Baltimore, MD—April 28, 2014—Sunday night’s FTA Annual Banquet & Awards Program saw the naming of winners in FTA’s 2014 Excellence in Flexography Awards. A total of 102 awards were given out, with six companies taking best of show honors:

    Sunshine FPC, Inc., for its Seafood Medley In A
      Ginger Noodle Broth Wrapper (Wide Web)
    Marvaco Oy Ltd., for its Falcon BBQ Wrapper (Mid
    Cellotape-Landmark, for its Ron Teeguarden’s
      Dragon Herbs Tonic Alchemy Label (Narrow Web)
    Lewisburg Container Co., for its Boulevard Brewing
      Co. Pale Ale Box (Combined Corrugated)
    RockTenn Co., for its Hartz Multi Cat Litter Box
      (Preprinted Linerboard)
    Mac Papers Envelope Converters, Inc., for its Dish
      Cinema Multi Sport Pack Envelope (Envelope)

Two companies were announced as winners of the newly named FTA Sustainability Excellence Award: Accredo Packaging, in the Sustainability Programs category, and Avery Dennison, in the Innovations in Sustainability category. Far from being strangers to the world of green printing, both companies have sustainability efforts in place that are maturing and continually evolving.

Harper Corporation of America Technical/OEM Accounts Manager Paul Teachout and SCHAWK! Print Services Director Robb Frimming both received the 2014 President’s Award. “Leaders don’t wait to be asked and they don’t take their commitments lightly; they formulate ideas and see themselves involved in areas that best utilize their talents,” wrote FTA President Mark Cisternino in the May issue of FLEXO magazine.
View photos from the Annual Banquet & Awards Program and Sunday's Forum happenings at FTA's website.

Cal Poly State University won Overall First Place in the Phoenix Challenge College Competition. University Of Central Missouri swept the remaining four categories: Concept, Research, Graphic and Execution.

For dedication to the FIRST Certification program, displayed in its more than 350 Level 1, Level 2 and Level 3 certifications and devotion to efficiency and standards, Mary-Jean Irving and her team at Master Packaging, Inc. were honored with the TEST Educational Leadership Award.

Winners of the 2014 FTA Technical Innovation Award were All Printing Resources and SpotOn! Press, collaborating on their SpotOn! Flexo color matching software, in the Prepress Pressroom category; and Esko, for its Equinox software that converts images to 5-, 6- and 7-color jobs.

Dr. J. Page Crouch, described by FLEXO Publisher Robert Moran in his article on Crouch as a “horticulturalist, water sports enthusiast, coach, mentor, researcher; hot rodder, lab rat, taskmaster, author, photographer and philosopher,” not to mention a lifelong educator in the ways of flexography, was inducted into FTA’s Hall of Fame as its 52nd member.

The first place award in the FFTA Rossini North American Flexographic Scholarship Competition, for $13,000, went to Nathan Pretorius of Clemson University, for his project investigating the utilization of flexo printing and conductive inks to create a mutual capacitive touch interface. Second place, taking a $9,500 scholarship, went to Amanda Cockroft and Katherine Dayton of Western Michigan University, for their project exploring ways to recycle flexographic printing plates and their scrap materials to utilize the recycling for other purposes in the print industry.

Read about these honorees and more, and see all medal winners in the 2014 Excellence in Flexography Awards competition in the May issue of FLEXO Magazine.

INFO*FLEX opens today, complete with 262 booths, hundreds of exhibitors and limitless business potential. On Sunday, 115 booths were reserved so far for INFO*FLEX 2015, scheduled for May 4-5 in Nashville, TN.

Be sure to stop by the Baltimore Convention Center today, beginning at 1:30 p.m.
Today’s Agenda

8:00 a.m. - 9:30 a.m.
Flexography 101 Session

10:00 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.
Concurrent Sessions: Flexography 102
Emerging Flexo Markets:
Is Your Business Positioned
for Future Growth?

12:30 p.m. - 1:30 p.m.
PC/TEST Luncheon
(Invitation Only)
1:30 p.m. - 5:30 p.m.
Excellence in Flexography Awards Display

1:45 p.m. - 4:15 p.m.
INFO*FLEX Solutions Theater

5:30 p.m. - 7:30 p.m.
Social Networking Reception​
Get to Forum
Hilton Baltimore
401 W Pratt St
Baltimore, MD​

Baltimore Convention Center
1 W Pratt St
Baltimore, MD